Understanding Diversity Visas

Understanding Diversity Visas

The diversity visa program is a great opportunity for immigrants that was introduced after World War II. In the period after World War II, the United States opened immigration to individuals who were not from Europe. To do this, they created the diversity visa which was designed to make it easier for people from underrepresented countries to come to the United States.

Every year, the Department of State determines how many people are in the United States from each country in the world. In an effort to make our immigration policy more diverse, individuals from the 20 most countries with the greatest numbers of immigrants in the United States are not eligible to apply for the diversity visa. The countries that are currently not eligible because they are in the top 20 of countries include:


  • Bangladesh
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Mainland China
  • Colombia
  • The Dominican Republic
  • El Salvador
  • Haiti
  • India
  • Jamaica
  • Mexico
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • South Korea
  • United Kingdom except for Northern Island
  • Vietnam


Every year between October 5th and November 5th, about 20 million people from around the world apply for an open 50,000 slots by applying on the State Department’s website. Every year Hacking Immigration Law, LLC has two or three individuals who won the lottery and either work to adjust their status or to get the visa overseas. All we have to show is that they have a high school degree or two years of work experience and then they have to show that they are from one of the qualifying countries.

If you believe you qualify for a diversity visa or would like to learn more about them, our attorneys have answers. We can help you determine or prove your eligibility for this visa. Call Hacking Immigration Law, LLC for a consultation to discuss your options.