Click here to see how our firm is preparing for COVID-19

Federal Appeals Court Rules Asylum-Seekers Have Right to Appeal

Spread the love

In California, a federal appeals court ruled that those who are denied asylum have a right to appeal.

In the United States, to be granted asylum, a migrant must be able to establish that they have a "credible fear" of persecution if they return to their home country. USCIS (United States Citizenship and Immigration Services) officers are those who decide the application and determine whether they believe a "credible fear" is present.

Currently, asylum decisions can only be appealed to an immigration judge for procedural grounds rather than on the substantive decision that USCIS has made. The federal appeals court decided that this violates the constitutional protections that are granted to non-citizens.

An attorney for the American Civil Liberties Union, Lee Gelernt, said, "The historical and practical importance of this ruling cannot be overstated...this decision reaffirms the Constitution's foundational principle that individuals deprived of their liberty must have access to a federal court."

The federal appellate judges wrote in their opinion, "We think it obvious that the Constitutional not satisfied by such a scheme."

This ruling is particularly relevant now, given the overwhelming number of migrant families trying to enter the U.S. to request asylum. Trump has consistently made asinine comments and threatened to halt processes or make migrants wait for their applications to be adjudicated outside of the United States borders.

Since Trump has taken office, immigration judges have been denying "credible fear" appeals at a higher rate than before. According to Syracuse University's Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse (TRAC), by June of 2018 only fifteen percent of asylum applicants that appealed to immigration judges were found to have had "credible fear."

According to ACLU attorneys, the ruling by the federal court will mean that rejected asylum-seekers in the ninth circuit (Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, and Washington) will now be able to request appeals from a federal judge.

For more information, click here.

You May Also Like

Why Do Mandamus Lawsuits Over Immigration Delays Work? Spread the love When you file an immigration petition, you expect a decision within a certain time. But sometimes, the government takes much longer than expected to make a... VIEW POST
What Can the USCIS Ombudsman Do To Speed Up Your Immigration Case? Spread the loveWaiting for your immigration case resolution can feel like a never-ending nightmare. You're not sure what's taking so long, and every day feels like an eternity. You... VIEW POST
USCIS Processing Times: A Definitive Guide Spread the loveWaiting for your green card, visa, citizenship, and other immigration processes can be stressful. With all the backlogs, government interruptions, and changing policies, you should prepare for... VIEW POST

Download Free Guide 
2022 Immigrant’s Guide to 
Becoming a U.S. Citizen

This guide contains all you need to know to become  
a U.S. citizen.

Download Free Guide 2022 Immigrant’s Guide to Becoming a U.S. Citizen

This guide contains all you need to know
to become a U.S. citizen.

Answers Show
Live every week.